Call to Book
Back to the top

Reviews

Jonathan Weiss Vampire, Ghost, Dark History Tour French Quarter New Orleans

REVIEWS

New Orleans Haunted Ghost Tours by Jonathan Weiss Tours IconNew Orleans Haunted Ghost Tours by Jonathan Weiss Tours

622 Pirates Alley, New Orleans

4.7 545 reviews

  • Avatar Arlie Liverman ★★★★★ a month ago
    I actually did not come here for the ghost tour. We were on another tour about the history of New Orleans and stopped at this bar on Pirates alley. Unfortunately, from all of the partying the night before, I was a bit hungover and could … More not partake in what I found out to be an absinthe bar. Yes, the Elixir that you hear about that can cause mild hallucinogen properties. This bar specializes in just that. So, I decided before we were leaving on our last day to go back to the bar so I can partake in this magic elixir. I was not disappointed. I only had one shot but could immediately feel the difference compared to drinking your usual alcoholic shot. It was quite delicious and surprisingly tolerable on the palate. The sugar cube they add to it gives it some sweetness and still allows for that licorice type flavor to hit your tongue. The waitress suggested to take small sips of pineapple juice after each sip of elixir to clean the pallet and therefore being able to enjoy the flavor each and every time you took a sip. I highly suggest trying this place and having at least one drink to be able to say you've tried it. You won't regret it! I love New Orleans!❤👍👌
  • Avatar Ronald Eary ★★★★★ a month ago
    My friends and I were recently in New Orleans for my wife's 40th birthday and we inadvertently took Jonathan Weiss' tour, and it was GREAT! I say "inadvertently" because we thought we were joining the tour we had paid … More for but happened to accidentally join Jonathan's tour. Even after he found out what had happened, he was extremely gracious and invited us to remain with his tour. We are so glad we did! He was very knowledgeable and a truly engaging storyteller. He is extremely well versed in the history of New Orleans and the French Quarter. If you are looking for a fun and entertaining tour of the French Quarter, look no further. We highly recommend Jonathan Weiss Tours.
  • Avatar Ernest Lopez ★★★★★ a month ago
    We did our haunted history tour with Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours. Our tour guide, Jonathan, was great. His way of sharing informative history, facts vs myths, made it entertaining. He was very knowledgeable about all things ghost and haunting, … More even vampires and cemeteries. We also went to the cemetery and around the French Quarter learn the history of the area and cemetery. Thanks for an amazing experience.
  • Avatar Louis Cooke ★★★★★ a month ago
    Jonathan Weiss is AMAZING! We did the Vampires and Cemetery tours. The informative and entertaining stores were worth the trip to NOLA alone. Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours are the best. Thanks for providing such an awesome tour. We will be … More back for the ghost tour soon!
  • Avatar Audrey Wallace ★★★★★ a month ago
    My group had a fantastic time with Jonathan - he is a fascinating and knowledgeable guide of his city. You will walk and stand a lot, see some really interesting parts of the French Quarter, and learn a different side of New Orleans. We … More had such a good time with him on our first tour, that he let us tag along for his second tour of the night too. Highly recommend both the Dark History tour and the Ghost tour!
  • Avatar Kendra Mortureux ★★★★★ a month ago
    We absolutely loved this tour with Jonathan Weiss for so many reasons. Not only was it informative and lively, but we were in a small group and could ask questions (and we asked A LOT of questions, so thanks for your patience) to really … More get to know the history and legends of the French quarter. Our guide enabled us to see the city in a different light and appreciate its rich history and the blending of cultures that makes it such a diverse city. A big thank you to Jonathan for sharing your knowledge and passion of this exceptional city.
    I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an authentic experience, and my hope is to be able to go back to NOLA to do another tour with Jonathan.
  • Avatar Latrina Dudley ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Mesmerizing! Johnathan Weiss is able to capture his audience and transcend them back into time. Not only will you learn about ghosts but the history of iconic buildings and streets in New Orleans. He has a new fan girl and I will definitely … More be back to take his tours!
  • Avatar Paweł Gruca ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Jonathan Weiss is AMAZING! We did the Vampires and Cemetery tours. The informative and entertaining stores were worth the trip to NOLA alone. Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours are the best. Thanks for providing such an awesome tour. We will be … More back for the ghost tour soon!
  • Avatar Elliot Ellis ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Jonathan Weiss is AMAZING! We did the Vampires and Cemetery tours. The informative and entertaining stores were worth the trip to NOLA alone. Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours are the best. Thanks for providing such an awesome tour. We will be … More back for the ghost tour soon!
  • Avatar Triona O’shea ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Jonathan Weiss is AMAZING! We did the Vampires and Cemetery tours. The informative and entertaining stores were worth the trip to NOLA alone. Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours are the best. Thanks for providing such an awesome tour. We will be … More back for the ghost tour soon!
  • Avatar Pawel Gruca ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Jonathan Weiss is AMAZING! We did the Vampires and Cemetery tours. The informative and entertaining stores were worth the trip to NOLA alone. Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours are the best. Thanks for providing such an awesome tour. We will be … More back for the ghost tour soon!
  • Avatar Scott Cark ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    We did our haunted history tour with Jonathan Weiss Ghost Tours. Our tour guide, Jonathan, was great. His way of sharing informative history, facts vs myths, made it entertaining. He was very knowledgeable about all things ghost and haunting, … More even vampires and cemeteries. We also went to the cemetery and around the French Quarter learn the history of the area and cemetery. Thanks for an amazing experience.
  • Avatar Christopher Head ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    He is thorough in his history and charismatic in his character. You can tell that he has a genuine love for the French Quarter and its history that you cannot help but share in the end.
    His anecdotes and stories that he passes down to
    … More his guests are captivating to say the least. The grisly details of colonial life as well as the ghost stories that well up from the harsh living conditions are illustrated for us to soak in.
    Be sure to take advantage of all of the tales that he can share! Make sure he tells you what guests of previous tours have experienced while on his tour.
    Definitely a must do when in New Orleans. I have caught his tour twice!
  • Avatar Empty Nester Chronicles ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Make sure you have good walking shoes! Our tour guide Gabby was fun and very knowledgeable. While we were walking to these locations she would point other little points of interest which was great! She made sure we stayed together and … More that we were safe throughout the tour. It's a great tour of the French Quarters' haunted sites.
  • Avatar Emma Stevens ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Jonathan is a New Orleans treasure. This tour was so informative and interesting even for those who may be generally weary of taking a ghost tour. I felt like I learned so much about the city and it's incredible history. Jonathan is … More an amazing story-teller. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting NOLA and will certainly take a tour whenever we are back.
  • Avatar Jane Ni ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I booked the Dark History tour based on a recommendation from a friend and it was a good tour. It was the first tour that I participated in when I arrived in NOLA and Jonathan provided a good overview of NOLA history. I also appreciated … More the recommendations on where to go and eat. Although for some people the pace might have been on the faster side, for a New Yorker like me the pace was normal. If I had the time, I would book another tour.
  • Avatar Melanie Burgess ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    We had the best experience with Jonathan Weiss Tours! Thank you for the best ghostly expertise! I definitely did my research on the paranormal in your home town. You stopped by most of the things on my mind. I really appreciate that you … More made a detour off your normal path per my request! I took these photos and captured these orbs at the La Laurie house. Thank you! I highly recommend this tour. The other tours seemed so cookie cutter!
  • Avatar Lauren Jackson ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Jonathan is able to convey historical truths with such vivid detail. His talks are incredibly engaging. He has a deep love and appreciation for the city and helps others gain the same appreciation through his tours. I've been to New … More Orleans many times and would never even consider another tour company, Jonathan is the best!
  • Avatar Roe D ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Jonathan's Dark History Tour of the French Quarter was interesting, informative and one of the best tours I've taken. Jonathan's passion for his city is obvious and his knowledge immeasurable. He patiently answered all questions … More and provided insights into each stop. Looking forward to taking another of his tours on my next visit .
  • Avatar Gabriella Laskaris ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Jonathan was such a dynamic, passionate, and knowledgeable guide. He was a historian, philosopher, and storyteller interwoven into one. The love he has for his city is palpable; he spares no detail, and juxtaposes the ugly bits with the … More beauty/allure of it all. My group truly enjoyed themselves, and the pacing was perfect—nothing ever felt too stagnant or rushed. I will definitely be back for more when I return to NOLA again!
  • Avatar Brooke Beck ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    On our first trip to New Orleans we wanted to make sure we went on a spooky tour. With Jonathan's tour we got so much more than we expected. His rich family history and inner knowledge of the city helped make the tour extra special. … More We learned some of the fascinating dark history of New Orleans and got some amazing recommendations for other places to visit in the city. This experience definitely helped elevate our vacation.
  • Avatar Alyssa Sciannella ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    My family and I went on the Dark History tour and WOW were we blown away!! The tour flew by and we wished it went on for another hour or two. Jonathan is an incredible storyteller and will give you chills, but you want to keep listening. … More He is so knowledgeable about New Orleans and the deep history it holds. Would 100% recommend his tour over the big companies. Tour groups are small, about 10-15 people. Book him now!!
  • Avatar Andrea Henriquez ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    We've been on Jonathan's tours twice already, and loved them both equally! Jonathan is a hypnotic storyteller and quite knowledgeable, but he also knows how to read the crowd and adjust to keep everyone engaged.
    We had our wedding
    … More party in town so we booked a couple of private tours with Jonathan and everyone enjoyed the stories. It was extremely (and unexpectedly) freezing on the day of our tour, but most of our party braved it and it was 100% worth it.
  • Avatar Shayla Leathers ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    This was our first visit to NOLA and it was amazing! We did the ghost tour and Jonathan was nothing short of AWESOME! This man knows his history of the city and keeps your attention THE WHOLE TIME. He takes you back to that time period … More and makes you FEEL the history of New Orleans. It was our last night there or we would have went on more. As he says, take pictures, something WILL show up in your pictures!
    Don't waste your money with any other company! I promise you wont regret it!
  • Avatar Kara Warrington ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    We went on the ghost tour and it was absolutely outstanding. I've been on other haunted tours of the Quarter given by guides who moved to the French Quarter a few years before becoming a tour guide, and anyone with Google and a map … More could give that tour. THIS tour was nothing like the ones I had gone on before. Our guide was a NOLA native with unique stories and locations and had a genuine interest and respect for the spirit world and the history of New Orleans. We will absolutely be booking a tour with Jonathan Weiss Tours again.
  • Avatar Zach Priest ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I went on the Dead Frenchmen walking tour with Doug as my tour guide. I’ve been on some French Quarter tours in the past and this was way better. Doug was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and his stories were deeply rooted in history. Being … More outside of the Quarter, you get to see sights and hear stories that are quite different than the typical walking tour. This was by far the best walking tour I have ever been on. I will certainly recommend this to any friends visiting in the future.
  • Avatar Victoria Wright ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I enjoyed Jonathan’s tour immensely! His talent for storytelling is immediately clear. I absolutely loved how he was able to explain the grave historical events with a sense of reverence and respect. He also had a great sense of humor which … More balanced the dark stories we learned about. In addition he had fantastic recommendations for local galleries, restaurants, and bars. I highly highly recommend this tour!
  • Avatar Ashley Dikos ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Having done 3 guided walking tours while on a short stay in NOLA, I’m confident to say that Jonathan Weiss Tours are the best in the city. The tour guide, Doug, was incredibly knowledgeable and fun. We had the privilege of meeting Jonathan … More on the tour also, which only added to the experience because of his obvious in-depth knowledge of all things New Orleans. Our only regret was booking this tour on our last night, because these guys had some great recommendations on go-to spots and we’ll now have to wait for the next trip to try them out. Highly recommend.
  • Avatar Kennesha Rodgers ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Loved the tour! Jonathan is funny and kind and also so knowledgeable about New Orleans history. He is respectful of the culture and history and has a fascinating vantage point. The tour stops were great, especially the pirate bar! He is … More genuinely open to answering questions and clearly loves this city. If you enjoy history and want to hear lesser known stories, this is the tour for you!
  • Avatar Benjamin Rodgers ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    This tour was incredible!! My wife and I just did the Dark History tour. We loved it. Jonathan is not only loads of fun and knowledgeable he brings New Orleans and the French Quarter to life. We so appreciated the experience and would strongly … More recommend to anyone who wants to learn the spooky history of New Orleans and also have a good time. Do this tour. You will appreciate this city so much more if you do.
  • Avatar snehal rao ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    We went for the Dark History and Ghost tour around the Christmas weekend. Our guide was Thomas. Overall, it was a fun walking tour. Thomas shared many stories about the city which was completely new to us and made us appreciate the culture … More and history of this town more than before. Would definitely recommend!
  • Avatar Jessica Martinez ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Jonathan was an amazing puzzle piece to our NOLA stay. His storytelling technique is amazing and he knows exactly how to interact but teach without it feeling like a lecture. He is beyond knowledgeable and probably could answer any question … More you had about the history or current state of New Orleans. Opt for a private tour, we did with our group of 9 and it is SO worth it. My sister went back for a second tour with just her boyfriend and she said it was spectacular.
  • Avatar Ryan Dye ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I actually went on two tours led by Johnathan and enjoyed both of them. I appreciated that not only did he share stories about the history of New Orleans, but he talked about the people specifically. It was obvious that he is proud of his … More city and the people who lived, fought, and died to make it the unique place it is today. Highly recommend Jonathan if you want an authentic French Quarter tour without the animated hype and baloney story telling.
  • Avatar Jennifer Mullins ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    My husband and I took the Vampire VIP tour our first full night in NOLA. Jonathan was a wealth of knowledge, and an exceptional story teller. Its abundantly clear that he loves his city. He was candid, engaging, and genuine. By the … More end of the night I was in love with this city and its rich history. This was much more than a Vampire tour, this was a full immersive experience of the French Quarter at night. We will indeed be booking again when we return!
  • Avatar Alyssa C ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Jonathan was amazing! We came straight from the airport and had a chilly night a couple of hour walking tour. None of that mattered because of how knowledgeable Jonathan was about New Orleans History and the many cool spots we hit up! We … More could listen to him talk all day. Definitely recommend !!
  • Avatar Tasha Canyon ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    We went on the Dark History Tour of New Orleans with Jonathan Weiss as the tour guide. The tour was very informative and engaging. Our kids ages 11-17 attended this tour and they thought it was amazing. They got to ask lots of questions. … More Jonathan was very patient and answered all of their questions. He did not mind at all! It was a little early in the day at 5pm (ugh traffic) but it actually gave us time to go eat afterward and enjoy the nightlife of the French quarter before we headed home. I highly recommend this tour for a dark history lesson!
  • Avatar Morgan Keese ★★★★★ a year ago
    Doug was a great guide! Very personable and tailored the tour to what we wanted to see. Extremely knowledgeable, engaging- the tour was a great balance of creeps and laughs.
    will come back for other version of their tours.
  • Avatar kellie kelly ★★★★★ a year ago
    My husband, son and I went on a tour with Jonathan on Sunday night. He was AMAZING! He mixed in elements of New Orleans history along with both gruesome and fun stories of ghosts. He is truly passionate and knowledgeable when telling his … More stories. We really enjoyed our Ghost Walk and would HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking too learn more about the city and the supernatural side of its history.
  • Avatar Charlie Burton ★★★★★ a year ago
    Three words my partner and I would use to describe our French Quarter Ghost Tour are authentic, riveting, and insightful. The tour gave us a new lens through which we could see the city of New Orleans. It was rooted in historical accuracy … More and gave new life to the previous (and perhaps still present) inhabitants of the French Quarter. Jonathan Weiss is hands down the best tour guide in New Orleans and this tour is worth every penny!
  • Avatar Kelly Thompson Keown ★★★★★ a year ago
    DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THE CATTLE CALL TOURS!!!! Go with Johnathon! You will NOT regret it! He takes you off the beaten path, in your small group of 5-10 and is SO knowledgeable! I’ve been on many tours in many places all over the world … More and Jonathon by far is the best guide I’ve ever had! Don’t expect the quick version of the story! He’s gong to tell you all the details and paint the picture so you see and feel old New Orleans. Originally, I went on the Saturday night 8:15 Vampire Tour. I loved it so much I went back on Sunday afternoon at 5:00 for dark history! Let me also note, I went to both by myself and not for one second did I feel alone! You are so pulled in to his story telling that you never want to leave! Thanks so much Johnathon got a great experience and being a kindred spirit! See you soon!
  • Avatar Matt Zelonka ★★★★★ a year ago
    Wife drug me and my nephew out on this. I really have no interest in vampires. The guide (Zach?) did a great job and I got totally into it. My nephew was completely freaked out and thought he saw a ghost. Next day I saw Vampires everywhere … More . Vampires are my thing now.
  • Avatar Joanna ★★★★★ a year ago
    I was a bit skeptical to go on a ghost tour but Jonathan did such a great job explaining not only the history of New Orleans, but also giving those who passed away recognition and respect. He left me wanting to know more about his city … More and it’s culture. Although this was my third time visiting New Orleans, he made me realize how I’ve barely brushed the surface of its history. Very excited to go back and go on more of his tours! Also thank you, Jonathan for dealing with my boyfriend and his mustache.
  • Avatar Lexi Labby ★★★★★ a year ago
    Jonathan is an amazing tour guide! He knows so much about the true history of New Orleans and you can hear the sincerity and passion when he’s telling stories. This isn’t an average ghost tour, you gain so much knowledge from Jonathan that … More you’ll have an entirely new outlook on New Orleans. Don’t look any further for a tour, this is the best in the city! He also gives wonderful restaurant recommendations for places like coops 😋
  • Avatar Rachel Moore ★★★★★ a year ago
    Genuinely cannot recommend this tour enough. I took the ghost tour three years ago and was enthralled; I took it again last night and it was just as incredible. No tour is exactly the same because Jonathan puts his individual spin and personal … More details and love for the city into every one. We immediately booked the vampire tour the next morning just to hear more about the city from such an interesting perspective.
  • Avatar Christina Tomlin ★★★★★ a year ago
    I would recommend Doug as a tour guide anytime. He was informative, pleasant, and all around good guy. I really enjoyed the tour and seeing a different version of the city.
  • Avatar Kayleigh Smith ★★★★★ a year ago
    My husband and I had but a day to spend in New Orleans and we’re so glad we took the time to go on this tour. Jonathan kindly fit us in for his dark history tour and did not disappoint. He knows how to tell a story that didn’t seem rehearsed. … More He painted a wonderfully dark and exciting story that I didn’t want to end. Hopefully we will be able to go back to the big easy and enjoy one of his other tours.
  • Avatar Katie McCarty ★★★★★ a year ago
    Did the Dead Frenchmen Tour and our guide Doug was AMAZING! He had historical info, stories, and pictures that we had never seen, even after doing several New Orleans tours! He answered all of our questions even if they weren’t related … More to the tour! He was fun and super knowledgeable and made our love for the city even greater! I would recommend this tour and Doug to anyone! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Thank you, Doug! We wish you all the best!
  • Avatar Rebecca Bryant ★★★★★ a year ago
    Jonathan is a true professional, no gimmicks, no silly costumes or behavior. He is incredibly knowledgeable about what he tours, be it Ghost tour or Vampire tour. He knows his history and he delivers the information in an entertaining and … More engaging fashion. He keeps you on your toes and welcomes all questions. I would buy his tour again, with complete confidence that I will be satisfied, and walking away wanting more! Next time I’m in NOLA I will definitely be touring with Jonathan. Don’t fall for all the other cheesy tours.
  • Avatar annabell Crosby ★★★★★ a year ago
    Jonathan was great! Super knowledgeable, funny and just a good time all around. I love that the group was small compared to some other groups around. It felt more private.
  • Avatar Kimberly Dyan ★★★★★ a year ago
    My friend and I went on Jonathan's ghost tour in New Orleans! It did not disappoint! I had such a great time. Not only did I get to hear about all the ghost stories, but I learned a lot of history about the city itself. There are so … More many things I didn't know about New Orleans, and Jonathan was very knowledgeable. My friend, who has been on several ghost tours, said this was by far the best one she had ever been on. In fact, she said it would be cool just to sit and have a drink with Jonathan because he knows so much about the city. Next time I go to New Orleans, I want to do another tour to soak up more information or check out one of his other tours. Highly recommend!
  • Avatar Kelley B ★★★★★ a year ago
    We took the Dark History tour and absolutely enjoyed it. Jonathan was very friendly, knowledgable and entertaining. He has an awesome way of sharing stories about the different sites we stopped at that provide a great deal of historical … More detail without feeling like you're sitting through a lecture class. He also made sure to answer any questions we had a long the way. Several locals said "Hello" to him along the way which we also thought was great (it was good to know the person giving us the tour was an actual member of the community). We plan on visiting the French Quarter again soon and will be booking Jonathan Weiss tours for another one of the tours they offer!